Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: EcoTech Radion XR30W

  1. #1
    Professional
    • milkman's Tank Stats
      • Tank Size:
      • System 1 - 120 gal display, 45 gal frag, 40 gal ja
      • Equipment:
      • Octo SRO 3000, Octo Extreme 200, (2) MP40w, Apex Controller
      • Lights:
      • 8x TEK T5, 250w Icecap MH
    milkman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Parkville, MO
    Posts
    1,504
    Credits
    10
    Images
    309
    Rep Power
    396

    Smile EcoTech Radion XR30W

    I got two EcoTech Radion lights for Christmas from my wife to go on my 120 gal display. I had planned on another Aquastyle build for this tank, but her offer to get two of these for Christmas quickly changed those plans.

    I like an open top, so I proceeded to figure out how to mount them and keep the open look. I settled on 1" aluminum tubing that is anodized black along with the matching nylon connectors.

    .

    I got a special metal cutting blade for my miter saw and cut all the pieces to fit.

    ...

    I mounted the Radions directly to the tubing with 5M bolts and the entire fixture is rock solid with eight bolts running through the tubing and directly into the mounting ports on the lights (I also do not like the look of any hanging cables).

    I just got the fixture up yesterday and still tweaking the programming. There is a natural mode and an artifical mode that you program via USB connector. The natural mode simulates the day cycle with a gradual ramping up of the lights from 6 am untl dark. You can change the cycle in any manner your choose. The artificial mode is completely programmable to any spectrum you want for any length of time. The Radions work in concert with each other via the wireless interface, so you only program one and it passes the programming to all the others. I also have them linked to my MP40's so you can actually start feed mode from the switches on top the Radion. The possibilities are endless and Ecotech has committed to continual upgrade to the programming interface.

    .
    .

    .


    I will post a complete review of the Radions after I have a couple of months of experience, but so far they look to be a great replacement for my TEK 8 bulb fixture which was eating $160 worth of bulbs every 6-8 months. All three of my tanks are now lit solely with LEDs. No more bulbs

  2. #2
    looks good!. must say, your wife did a pretty good job on your xmas present!

  3. #3
    Master
    • tilton's Tank Stats
      • Tank Size:
      • 29g biocube
      • Type:
      • mixed
      • Equipment:
      • MP10, TUNZE 9002, KORALIA 1, MAXIJET 1200, WAVEMAKER, TEMP CONTROLLER, STEVIE T RACK
      • Lights:
      • 24" 150 watt Coralife Aqualight Pro with 2 65 watt 420 actinics and 2 blue led night
      • Wants:
      • frags, fish,
    tilton's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    whiteman afb
    Posts
    498
    Credits
    10
    Rep Power
    61
    Looks good, but why not just get the hanging kits?

  4. #4
    Professional
    • milkman's Tank Stats
      • Tank Size:
      • System 1 - 120 gal display, 45 gal frag, 40 gal ja
      • Equipment:
      • Octo SRO 3000, Octo Extreme 200, (2) MP40w, Apex Controller
      • Lights:
      • 8x TEK T5, 250w Icecap MH
    milkman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Parkville, MO
    Posts
    1,504
    Credits
    10
    Images
    309
    Rep Power
    396
    I don't like the look of wires from the ceiling. I also have 10 ft ceilings, so the wires would look particularly ugly.
    Two hanging kits works out to $100 which is exactly what I spent on the tubing and the fittings.

  5. #5
    Master
    • tilton's Tank Stats
      • Tank Size:
      • 29g biocube
      • Type:
      • mixed
      • Equipment:
      • MP10, TUNZE 9002, KORALIA 1, MAXIJET 1200, WAVEMAKER, TEMP CONTROLLER, STEVIE T RACK
      • Lights:
      • 24" 150 watt Coralife Aqualight Pro with 2 65 watt 420 actinics and 2 blue led night
      • Wants:
      • frags, fish,
    tilton's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    whiteman afb
    Posts
    498
    Credits
    10
    Rep Power
    61
    [QUOTE=milkman;224255]I don't like the look of wires from the ceiling. I also have 10 ft ceilings, so the wires would look particularly ugly.
    Two hanging kits works out to $100 which is exactly what I spent on the tubing and the fittings.[/QUOTE

    I hear ya. So how do you think the displacement of the lights are? Are you at 100% power? Also, do you think 2 will be enough for the 120? I plan on putting one over a 29g biocube.

  6. #6
    Professional
    • milkman's Tank Stats
      • Tank Size:
      • System 1 - 120 gal display, 45 gal frag, 40 gal ja
      • Equipment:
      • Octo SRO 3000, Octo Extreme 200, (2) MP40w, Apex Controller
      • Lights:
      • 8x TEK T5, 250w Icecap MH
    milkman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Parkville, MO
    Posts
    1,504
    Credits
    10
    Images
    309
    Rep Power
    396
    Plenty of power for my 120 gal. I have the lights set to 40% in the photo, but I did turn them all the way up in the demo mode and they are plenty bright. You can make it work over your Biocube, but it may be a little too much light. You can turn them down to just about any level. The suggest one light for each 2x2 ft area.

  7. #7
    Master
    • tilton's Tank Stats
      • Tank Size:
      • 29g biocube
      • Type:
      • mixed
      • Equipment:
      • MP10, TUNZE 9002, KORALIA 1, MAXIJET 1200, WAVEMAKER, TEMP CONTROLLER, STEVIE T RACK
      • Lights:
      • 24" 150 watt Coralife Aqualight Pro with 2 65 watt 420 actinics and 2 blue led night
      • Wants:
      • frags, fish,
    tilton's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    whiteman afb
    Posts
    498
    Credits
    10
    Rep Power
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by milkman View Post
    Plenty of power for my 120 gal. I have the lights set to 40% in the photo, but I did turn them all the way up in the demo mode and they are plenty bright. You can make it work over your Biocube, but it may be a little too much light. You can turn them down to just about any level. The suggest one light for each 2x2 ft area.
    sounds great, yeah I assume I wil only probably be able to run it around 50% max. They are the nicest LEDs out right now though IMO. Looks great over the tank btw.

    One last question, how are the coral colors compared to the t5? Also, is the...can't think of the word...light refraction? Compared to MH?

  8. #8
    Professional
    • milkman's Tank Stats
      • Tank Size:
      • System 1 - 120 gal display, 45 gal frag, 40 gal ja
      • Equipment:
      • Octo SRO 3000, Octo Extreme 200, (2) MP40w, Apex Controller
      • Lights:
      • 8x TEK T5, 250w Icecap MH
    milkman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Parkville, MO
    Posts
    1,504
    Credits
    10
    Images
    309
    Rep Power
    396
    You get the shimmer of the MH that you dont get with T5. The color is harder to compare because the Radion can be adjusted to about any spectrum where the T5 is a function of the bulbs you select. I have mt Radion set to 14k right now, but having only ran them for one day, I have a lot of experimenting to do.

  9. #9
    Professional
    • saltyandy's Tank Stats
      • Tank Size:
      • 29 Biocube
      • Type:
      • Tons of zoa and acans
      • Lights:
      • 76 W PC
      • Wants:
      • Colorful Acans!!!
    saltyandy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Shawnee
    Posts
    757
    Credits
    25
    Images
    57
    Rep Power
    68
    So for a 48" 75 gallon could you get away with 1 or do you need 2

  10. #10
    Professional
    • milkman's Tank Stats
      • Tank Size:
      • System 1 - 120 gal display, 45 gal frag, 40 gal ja
      • Equipment:
      • Octo SRO 3000, Octo Extreme 200, (2) MP40w, Apex Controller
      • Lights:
      • 8x TEK T5, 250w Icecap MH
    milkman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Parkville, MO
    Posts
    1,504
    Credits
    10
    Images
    309
    Rep Power
    396
    You need two. Four feet is too long of a lateral distance to cover.

    Not sure that's a good use of money for a 75 gal.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 34
    Last Post: 03-01-2012, 07:26 AM
  2. Anyone want an Ecotech MP60 at a great price?
    By PJD in forum Aquariums Wholesale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-17-2011, 12:18 PM
  3. We now carry Ecotech coral glue, check it out
    By PJD in forum Aquariums Wholesale
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-02-2011, 04:47 PM
  4. EcoTech Marine Recall
    By CathyJ in forum Reef Equipment Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 01:16 PM
  5. Info sent to me....EcoTech pumps
    By Hotrod in forum Reef Equipment Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-17-2008, 10:12 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •